top of page
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Writer's picturexoxo, Neesi

Winter Skin



Winter is my favourite season, I love everything about it. The cold air, bare trees, cloudy skies and cute outfits, what I don't like is how my combination skin stays oily but super dry at the same time, especially in the heart of winter. So, with much trial and error, I finally cracked the code of my combination skin for winter days.



Here are 5 tips that will help get your skin back to how baby soft & healthy it used to be.

1. Chop and Change

If you are using a gel cleanser, its best to switch your gel cleanser for a cream cleanser, reason being that gel is more likely to strip the moisture of your skin in winter where as a cream cleanser helps lock in that moisture for extra nourishment from the very first wash.

I was using the Avon, Clearskin Pore Penetrating Gel Cleanser, this cleanser works like a bomb in getting rid of black heads and imperfections, however, left my skin feeling tight and really dry around my T-Zone area. I think this cleanser is more suitable for summer days where you skin excretes more oil . Now that I am using the Nivea, Daily Essentials Refreshing 2-in-1 Cleanser & Toner , My skin looks and feels more refreshed and hydrated. Not only does the Nivea cleanser hydrate my skin, but it also has a built in make up remover, which ultimately makes my skin care regime a little easier in our winter days.



2. Scrub A Dub Dub

When dead skin cells pile up on the surface of your face, it leaves your skin looking old AF, dry, rough and dull, almost like the really bad hangover face after a hectic night out. lol Exfoliation doesn't only remove the dead skin cells, it gives you a really pretty glow by increasing the blood circulation beneath your skin as well as making your skin more receptive in absorbing that good good from your moisturiser after exfoliation. I make my own exfoliating face scrub with 1 Tbsp coconut oil, a tiny pinch of turmeric & 1Tbsp brown sugar. The sugar removes the dead skin cells while the coconut oil serves as an anti bacterial agent & moisturiser and the turmeric reduces scars, targets your pores & pimples while calming the skin with its anti inflammatory properties. lol your'e welcome...


3. Annihilate Dry Skin

Make sure that you apply a really good night time moisturiser or hydrating face oil after cleansing your skin before going to bed. I use hydrating face oil that is doused with Vitamin A and Vitamin C which are known for there antioxidant properties. I use the ENVIRON Intensive Hydrating Oil Capsules which are suitable for all skin types but will be beneficial particularly to those out there with dry or dehydrated skin due to the formulation of the product, these capsules changed my life. My skin absorbed the oil real quick, so I didn't have a greasy look on my face, my face looked lively, healthy & vibrant the next day. These capsules can be used at any time of the day, its not just a night time thing.


4. Mask

Boost your skin with your desired mask once or twice a week to help improve the look and feel of your skin. I use The Body Shop, Aloe Soothing Rescue Leave-In Cream Mask. My skin is quite sensitive & this mask is perfect for my sensitive combination skin, especially in winter. It gently hydrates, reduces visible scars, makes my skin feel absolutely amazing, gives my skin a new born baby's glow and lasts a long time as a little goes a long way.

Note: if your combination skin has a bit more of a kick in oily tendencies, then I suggest using a deep cleansing mask instead or very little of this Aloe infused cream mask.


5. UV Protection

Just because its winter doesn't mean that the UV Rays from the sun has completely disappeared off the face of this earth. In my opinion, i think UV Rays are more damaging and ageing in winter than spring or summer. Protect your skin from cell damage & ageing with a moisturiser or foundation that is infused with a decent amount of UV Blockers. I used the Coverderm Classic Waterproof Concealing Foundation 09, with an SPF volume of 30, on days where I use a lighter foundation (Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation, Rich Tan) or don't wear make up at all, I use the Nivea Daily Essentials Mattifying UV Protection Day Cream.

Price List

Avon, Clearskin Pore Penetrating Gel Cleanser - R79 Via Avon Representitive

Nivea, Daily Essentials Refreshing 2-in-1 Cleanser & Toner - R65.49 @Dischem

ENVIRON Intensive Hydrating Oil Capsules - R600 for the skin booster 3 piece set. (capsules aren't sold independently) - https://bit.ly/2zBDzfJ

The Body Shop, Aloe Soothing Rescue Leave-In Cream Mask - R200 @Clicks

Coverderm Classic Waterproof Concealing Foundation 09 - R445 @Dischem

Nivea Daily Essentials Mattifying UV Protection Day Cream. - R69.95 @Dischem

Maybelline Fit Me Matte & Poreless Foundation, Rich Tan - R99.00 @Dischem

Yorumlar


bottom of page