top of page
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Writer's picturexoxo, Neesi

My Dove Hair Journey


Those who know me, know my obsession for hair dye and beautiful colours can sometimes get a little out of hand, especially when it comes to exposing my hair to the harsh chemicals found in the hair dye.

I used to have natural, thick, super long, dark brown hair, and often used henna when colouring my luscious locks to avoid damage and breakage. The pros are that my hair stayed really healthy and the cons were, after a short 2 weeks, the colour washed out and no matter how many times I washed my hair, my head had a not so nice, yet really pungent henna smell also... the henna dried my hair out, resulting in split ends.


I got really tired of colouring my hair every 3 weeks and thought that using the usual permanent box dye would last much longer than Henna. Knowing that the "usual box dye" came with special conditioner treatments, I felt more comfortable using it.


From black hair, to golden brown, to the deepest red, to the gingery copper orange, to purple, blue, grey, green, honey blonde and my favourite colour, P L A T I N U M B LO N D E, gosh, My hair has actually been through the worst, but took the road to recovery quickly, nonetheless.


I've experimented a lot when it comes to hair dye, lol often refer to myself as the "Dye Guru" but my latest experiment included a big chop, 4 hair bleaches, 1 colour and 2 tones all in one week & a tone every week after the colour since, you can imagine how fragile my hair was after that, but I regret nothing. I figured that I just needed to up my hair care game with moisturising, strengthening, thickening and anti breakage supplements & products, my hair was platinum blonde and I loved it.


After a while my hair became really thin, & the damage started to show, even after my constant treatments and supplements, the breakage is real ya'll.


So at this point in time, I've decided to give my hair a break as we know, maintaining a platinum colour is a P R O C E S S, so I started growing the platinum colour out of my hair and I've been treating it with my very own coconut oil concoction, but the downside with my DIY treatment is that my hair stays oily, now I am looking for good hair care products to help boost the overall health & growth of my hair. A big thank you to Beauty Bulletin for choosing me, and 4 of my friends as candidates for the #DoveOneWashChallenge | #TrialDoveWithFriends, perfect timing yeah?


I am quite excited to test the range of Dove hair care products that are currently on their way, depending on my results, hopefully i'll settle with this brand as being part of my new hair care regime with Dove.


Comentários


bottom of page