top of page
  • Writer's picturexoxo, Neesi

9 Benefits of My Miracle Oil

South Africa's #1 Miracle oil that probably saved all our lives at some point in our lifetime. Whether it be dry hair, problem skin or weight-loss issues, here are 9 benefits for any beauty who loves, Coconut Oil .


I personally tested most of these benefits on myself and 1 on a friend to make sure that all the good things we hear about coconut oil, are not too good to be true and it actually works.


1. Aaargh, Dandruff


This nightmare creeps up on everyone, and haunts us from time to time. Whether it be a once in a while issue or an unfortunate issue that is dealt with on the daily, fear no more my beauties, because this amazing miracle oil made purely from the coconuts of paradise solves almost every cosmetic & bodily issue that I can think of.


Dandruff and how coconut oil restores scalp health
Among many other causes of dandruff, the most common are, believe it or not, change of season, dry skin, eczema, shampooing too often and sensitive scalp. Coconut Oil moisturises the scalp, aids in restoring scalp health and reduces flaking.

Love your scalp by simply massaging organic coconut oil into scalp at least once a week, leave in overnight and wash in the morning, girl, that dandruff will magically disappear. If your dandruff is really bad, do this twice a week and I guarantee results by the end of the week.


2. Not So Luscious Long Locks

For those who suffer from the stigma of trying to grow stubborn hair that refuses to grow past a certain length for whatever reason, again.... bless your hair with the oil from "the coconuts of paradise" lol.



Jokes aside, I had healthy, very long, dark, beautiful hair that I decided to make platinum blonde and chop off into a pixie bob. At the time, I really wanted some kind of change in my life and was easily inspired & "self persuaded" by Micah Gianelli , a model that I am toates obsessed with on Pinterest, her dress sense, hair, make up, everything is just flawless.


Anyway, long story short, I chopped off my hair, damaged it repeatedly in 2 weeks to achieve the platinum colour and voila, I had an edgy, trendy colour and cut that I love thanks to Ms Billings in Florida, who advised me not to kill my hair the way I did, but Neesi never listens sooooooo, here's what it looked like.


After 2 months of endless treatments, I couldn't hide it any longer. The damage started to show, my hair was breaking and it refused to grow, I missed how long, healthy and thick my hair used to be, so I started the "inverted cocomint method" to try and grow my hair as well as restore it. For this method to work, I needed to stop all colouring, touch ups and toning to maintain my beautiful platinum colour and I simply bent down with my head between my legs and massaged my head every day with no product & every 3rd day with my very own concoction of coconut oil and a dash of peppermint oil onto my scalp for 5 minutes. This stimulates blood flow in your scalp which then acts as an activator in your root for quick hair growth results. I moved by faith not by sight when trying this method and it actually worked. After 1 month of dedication, my hair has grown a significant amount and I am quite impressed.


3. Weird Combination Skin


I suffer from "weird skin syndrome", my skin is sensitive, dry, and oily at the same time so not many moisturisers work well with me, whether it be oil free, matte, or a light cream, i've tried them all. From breaking my pocket on expensive brands to saving a ton with the cheapest ones too, they ALL don't work for me.

I resorted to applying a small amount of organic coconut oil to a fresh clean face every night before bed and it works wonders for me. Many would assume that coconut oil is oily so your skin will turn out oilier than before, which is not true. when used correctly, it rather hydrates your skin without making it super oily. if you're sceptical about applying the oil directly to your face, try adding a few drops in your daily moisturiser.


4. Silky Smooth Shaving



Use coconut oil as a substitute for shaving gel, not only will it help prevent ingrown hairs, dry skin and bumps, it gives you a very close shave leaving your skin feeling silky smooth and soft. Simply rub a substantial amount of coconut oil on your skin, shave and pat try with an old towel.




5. Make Up Remover



I'm sure the title alone is quite self explanatory, even when it comes to stubborn waterproof liner, mascara and the red matte lipstick that just wont come off, a cotton ball dipped in coconut oil removes all make up with no hassle. Its almost like mother natures very own micellar water.


6. Cold Sore Treatment

Its that time of year where the days are much colder and colds & flu tends to circulate more often than usual. I am not one to get cold sores or fever blisters, so I haven't personally tried this remedy, but I found someone who could test the "coconut, anti - bacterial" theory on my behalf. A friend was literally dog sick with the flu which resulted in a huge cold sore by the opening of her nose. My faith in coconut oil is unshakeable because it has so many good properties. Coconut oil has 3 fatty acids —capric, caprylic and lauric acid — that possess both disinfectant and antimicrobial properties, helping to protect against as well as heal microbial infections. She applied organic coconut oil twice a day for a week and by day 4, the sore was completely dry and on its way out, by day 6, it was all gone with no scarring, no marks and no scabs.


7. Body Scrub


I found amazing home made coconut oil body scrub recipes on Pinterest.

Exfoliate your skin by mixing coconut oil with coconut sugar, or plain brown sugar and rub onto your skin in a circular motion. Do this before you shower, this home made scrub removes dead skin cells and boost your circulation resulting in smooth & healthy skin.





8. Lip Balm & Body Butter

For those who have extremely sensitive skin, ditch the chemicals & fragrances found in lip balms and body butters and use organic coconut oil as a substitute. It hydrates, locks in moisture and evens skin tone without clogging your pores.


9. Weight Loss



Coconut Oil is high in Medium Chain Fatty Acids that are metabolised differently than most other fats, ultimately leading to beneficial effects on your metabolism. These fats are sent straight to the liver from the digestive tract, where they are either used for energy right away or turned into ketone bodies.


Comments


bottom of page